Gluten Free Cornbread

Standard

Cornbread is the gluten free fall back recipe.  I came across this one a while back and have made a few changes to suit my tastes.  It’s a versatile recipe that you can swerve on the sweet side with vanilla added or savory by stirring in some cheese and chilis or whole kernel corn.  I keep meaning to try it with a can of creamed corn in replacement of the milk but I don’t remember until (like now) it’s in the oven.   I can smell it and can’t wait for dinner.

Life has been a crazy disastrous mess lately and I am looking forward to this comfort food.  Something everyone likes and I don’t have to listen to any complaints about.  Yay!

2/3 cup milk with 1 Tablespoon cider vinegar or lemon added (set aside to curdle)

3/4 cup gluten free flour mix

1/2 cup cornmeal

1/2 cup corn flour (if you dont have it, use extra of the other two flours)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon xantham gum

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup melted butter

1/2 cup agave or honey

1/2 cup applesauce

 

Preheat to 325.

Mix the dry ingredients.  dump in all the wet ingredients and mix just until combined.

bake in square, loaf, whatever pan or muffins you like.  My mom always used a cast iron skillet and heated it in the oven to melt a load of butter then when you poured the batter in it sizzles and starts cooking immediately.  It comes out awesome.  I wish I knew where my cast iron skillets were!

About LisaBootinGluten

I love food. I love cooking. As a child it was a valued activity that my mother shared with me. We would spend time together baking and talking, it was a wonderful time in my life. As an adult it became a way of expressing myself and sharing with friends and family. A few years ago I started having health issues and decided to try some experimenting with my diet in an attempt to resolve my issues. I started by cutting certain foods out of my diet with little impact, until I removed gluten. I immediately started noticing changes in how I felt. I knew that removing gluten from my diet was the right choice for me. At first I took the easy way out and purchased premade foods from specialty grocers but the quality was poor and the expense was added insult. I tried sticking to a diet of "naturally gluten free foods" like rice and veggies but as wonderful as they are I became bored and missed my favorites, like pizza, baguettes, cookies and tortillas. I have an alternate personality, I am a cookie monster! So it began. I started baking and devoted my free time to developing the perfect recipes's for my favorite foods. I feel I have some wonderful recipes as well as money and time saving tips to share. It's an ongoing process and I continue to add to my list of ideas and solutions. Admittedly there have been some horrific failures but maybe you can learn from my mistakes and maybe we can learn together! This is my blog, my food therapy, my therapy! I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

