Gluten Free Almond Ricotta Pound Cake

Standard

 

Cooling pound cake!

ALMOND RICOTTA POUND CAKE

I saw this recipe and had to adapt it to be gluten free.  It would probably be amazing with corn flour in place of the rice flour and some blueberries folded in but I didn’t have any corn flour to try.  If anyone else does, let me know how it works.  For now THIS version is a keeper!

 

Ingredients:

1⁄2 cup almond flour

1 1⁄2 sticks butter

1 1⁄2 cups ricotta cheese

1 cups sugar

3 eggs

2 teaspoons almond extract

3/4 cup rice flour

1/4 cup rice flour

1 teaspoon xantham gum

1⁄2 teaspoon Salt

1 Tbls baking powder

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray loaf pan with cooking spray
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer cream the butter, ricotta and sugar until fluffy
  3. Add the eggs one at a time combining well in between
  4. In a separate bowl combine the flours, cornstarch, xantham gum, baking powder and salt
  5. Add the dry ingredients to the mixer and beat until well combined
  6. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and smooth the top
  7. Bake the cake for 60 minutes or until the top is golden and the center is set

I serve pound cake with warm blueberry sauce, grilled stone fruits with honey

and whip cream or ice cream but it’s pound cake and so there are no limits!  BBQ a grilled Nutella dessert sandwich!

About LisaBootinGluten

I love food. I love cooking. As a child it was a valued activity that my mother shared with me. We would spend time together baking and talking, it was a wonderful time in my life. As an adult it became a way of expressing myself and sharing with friends and family. A few years ago I started having health issues and decided to try some experimenting with my diet in an attempt to resolve my issues. I started by cutting certain foods out of my diet with little impact, until I removed gluten. I immediately started noticing changes in how I felt. I knew that removing gluten from my diet was the right choice for me. At first I took the easy way out and purchased premade foods from specialty grocers but the quality was poor and the expense was added insult. I tried sticking to a diet of "naturally gluten free foods" like rice and veggies but as wonderful as they are I became bored and missed my favorites, like pizza, baguettes, cookies and tortillas. I have an alternate personality, I am a cookie monster! So it began. I started baking and devoted my free time to developing the perfect recipes's for my favorite foods. I feel I have some wonderful recipes as well as money and time saving tips to share. It's an ongoing process and I continue to add to my list of ideas and solutions. Admittedly there have been some horrific failures but maybe you can learn from my mistakes and maybe we can learn together! This is my blog, my food therapy, my therapy! I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

